“Having too Many Ideas sometimes Equals Having no Ideas at all”

I’m kind of borrowing this topic from somebody else. Someone on helpmewrite.co posted this idea as something they would want to write, and I’ll totally support them and read their take on it when they write their version. But this statement is just so true to my personal experience as a writer–and in particular my experience with writing in the last 3 months. I feel like oftentimes I’m stuck because I have too many ideas and too many projects going. I think I’ve been going on and on about being split between my short story project, my novel “Mind Terrorist”, and my fantasy project. (Oh, and let’s not forget my scholarly project of translating a Belphegor Interview.) I wish I could multitask to the scale of being able to write multiple projects simultaneously.

People keep telling me I really need to prioritize to regain control of my writing project situation. Well, people, it’s harder for me than you think. I am genuinely trying to stick to the checklist I wrote last month (first priority: Mind Terrorist, second priority: short stories anthology, third priority: Fantasy project). But I have a new idea every day and writing it out is extremely enticing!

A lot of the time, I end up getting frustrating with my lack of an ability to concentrate (because I’m torn between two projects) and just mess around on Facebook or look for new blogs. The good news though, is that I wrote myself out of the predicament I was talking about yesterday in “Mind Terrorist”. The bad news is that I’m now suddenly also torn between writing another short story for my short story anthology and working on “Mind Terrorist”.

But what do you think? Do you think you can have too many ideas sometimes?

2 thoughts on ““Having too Many Ideas sometimes Equals Having no Ideas at all”

  1. Autrach Sejanoz says:

    I think it’s possible. Hopefully, you’ve got a way to write ideas somewhere so you can get it out of your system, then go back to it when you’re comfortable.

    • nikkibausch says:

      Yeah, I might re-start another Idea journal where I just write a 1-page synopsis of the idea and then put it away until I need another project. I have two of those floating around somewhere in my room.

Leave a Reply

