I Just Lost an Entire Blog Post Despite saving it as a Draft

I spent a rather sizable chunk of time writing a post this morning. I have limited time and so if there happened to be a way to get that time back so that I could do something more productive with it, I would do so. Situations like this make me want to stop using WordPress, or “rage-quit” the blog if you will. Apparently though, if you have more than one blog (like me), there’s a risk that WordPress might forget which blog you specified for the post to go to when you hit “publish post” and just pull something like, “un_known post” or “we forgot where you said you wanted this to go.” Well, don’t do what I did. Don’t say “Okay, I’ll just save this as a draft then and try to redirect it to its rightful home from under my drafts page.” No! Big mistake. Even though, I waited for the screen to confirm that it was indeed saved, when I got to my drafts page I couldn’t find the post. It had vanished.

This has happened to me at least three times, and it’s a reason why I don’t update my blog as often, because of stupid technical derps like this that eat up my time and force me to have to conclude that I just wasted an hour trying to update my blog and have nothing to show for it. It’s time to move on to one of my 8 billion other projects I’m working on or else just resign myself to doing homework. I really don’t have time for stuff like this.

Anyway, I’m just going to do a short recap of what I actually wanted to post, since it pertains to my last blog entry and my future blog entries.

1.) I’m not doing the second part of the Liebster Awards. I’ve had a gut feeling ever since I first saw this thing floating around that this award is just fictional and it’s basically the WordPress/blogger version of a chain letter. I appreciate that someone thought my blog was awesome and wanted it to be recognized and thought this was a great way to network with people. But I don’t have time to fulfill the demands of this “award”. Also, I’m noticing that most bloggers view this as spam, so I’m not going to bother them with it. Yes, I decided at first I would try to do it because there are also a lot of bloggers out there who use this chain letter as a means of networking, and I see no issue with networking. In fact, I think the one good thing about the “Liebster Award” is that it got more bloggers to network. But I can find other ways to network that are in line with my current goals. And speaking of goals. . .

2.) I’m going to temporarily abandon this blog for the next 5 weeks to work on another blog that I’m doing for my Professional Writing 4160 course. It’s going to be about my experiences with Czech beer. There will also be beer suggestions and information about where you can get these beers if you ever travel to Czech Republic are happening to be planning a trip. I will put up another post when I have my first entry up so that you guys can find the blog.

3.) I’m also working on numerous translation projects. Still. I’ve got a project with Jewish, German-speaking writers from Prague who were in the same literary circle as Kafka and Max Brod. I’m still working on my Belphegor and other death metal/black metal German language interviews that I’m translating to English. You can view the results as I finish them here.

4.) I’m thinking what I don’t get done for the Prague Writers project will be going into my proposal for a Fulbright Research grant. I’m also dealing with that now and trying to get a translation internship abroad though AIESEC. To do both of these things, involves a lot of back-and-forth with representative from both of these programs.

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “I Just Lost an Entire Blog Post Despite saving it as a Draft

  1. Autrach Sejanoz says:

    Sucks to hear about the draft going missing.

    Good luck with everything, Nikki!

  2. oh sorry you lost what you’ve written! I recommend you to write in Microsoft word and then copy and edit in the blog! it’s better this way! about the award, i like what you have said and it’s true that it helps the network thing but it takes time!!
    good luck with other blog you’re working on and with translation job and internship.
    Thanks 🙂

    • nikkibausch says:

      Thanks!

      Yeah, usually it doesn’t take so much time to write a blog entry. On my translation entries though, they are all written entirely on Word because it takes several weeks to do them. I will also probably write the beer entries out on Word because they involve a little bit of research and make take a couple sessions to put together.

Leave a Reply

